RSS

Oh Canada!

01 Sep

For those of you who don’t actually know me personally, my family has a cottage up on the Georgian Bay in southern Ontario that we visit every summer (those of you who do know me personally have probably heard me wax poetic about this place ad nauseum on a few different occasions).  My grandfather, Papa George, bought it back in the ’60’s when my mom was a little girl.  He managed to take a collapsing cabin built at the turn of the 20th century, propped it up on car jack (yes, really) to rebuild the foundations, and turn it into a truly magical family vacation spot, if a little bit high maintenance still.  It’s very rustic–no electricity, propane for fridge, oven/stove, and some lights; no hot water–we bathe in the lake, pump water from the lake into a tank for the kitchen sink, heat water on the stove for dinner, and best of all, have a composting, water-free toilet (seriously).  A huge reason for all of this is that the property is actually an island unto itself, surrounded by thousands of these little islands that make up cottage country just a few hours north of Toronto.  I’ve only missed 3-4 summers for various reasons since I was born and can’t really imagine vacationing anywhere else; we start seriously dreaming about the island around Christmas time every year.  This summer was extra special, I think, because not only were we newly returned from months abroad, but both my brother and sister came as well (they couldn’t last year), AND our dear friends Kenny and Katy Hutson with their little girl Story, who is just a few months younger than Everett, joined us for about 5 days.  We stayed a total of about 3 weeks before heading back to St. Louis for good.  Some select pics for your enjoyment:

Yes, it really looks like this almost every evening.

Everett decided he LOVED the cold water the last week we were there--made him sleep well too!

Daddy and Everett hanging out on the front porch

An afternoon to myself while the little one napped and Eric and my brother went fishing

Bathtime!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 1, 2011 in At Home, Fun with Everett, Travel

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Oh Canada!

  1. Hannah B

    September 1, 2011 at 11:34 am

    That last one of Everett is killer. I”d love to see some of the others you have. I love the one I took of you and Everett in the water. Its so precious. i love my baby and my sister.

     
  2. Andrea Baldwin

    September 15, 2011 at 8:20 pm

    BTW…..your mom and dad were there, too……

     
    • alltherestofit

      September 15, 2011 at 10:48 pm

      Sorry! I just always think of you being there, everyone else is just additional. Obviously you were a huge part of the trip!

       

Leave a Reply

 
