RSS

Inspired by Shropshire: New Giveaway

16 May

When I was growing up, I spent a lot of time outside.  Probably not as much as I should have still, but I had all sorts of fantasies of living during the colonial or pioneer eras of American history, living off the land, wearing dresses all the time, lighting candles and oil lamps and warm fires at night, drinking out of freshwater springs, and gathering berries and wildflowers from the wilderness to keep in baskets and glass jars and clay pots.  Being in Shropshire this past week, going out for walks through the fields near Moss Cottage, smelling the fresh damp air and fireplace fires, and watching their gardens come to life with color, birds, and bugs of all sorts in the gorgeous but temperamental May weather took me back to days of roaming the woods behind our house and volunteering at historical homes near Philadelphia (mainly for the costumes).  The landscape is also reminiscent of that seen in either film version of Pride and Prejudice and so naturally conjures thoughts of tall handsome 19th century gentlemen declaring their surprising love for willful girls in flowy, mud-stained dresses (doesn’t hurt that the first time I saw the newer film was with Jean and Paul during my first visit here as a junior in college).

So for this week’s giveaway I wanted to do three things: Try my hand at a new craft (well, with the exception of what I did here, even though I don’t show you mine), represent some of the beauty seen around Moss Cottage, and encourage the winner and everyone else to do a little hand writing in the name of all things Jane Austen, pre-email communication, and the lovely scratchy sound of a pen on paper.

So this week’s prize is a set of 4 notecards with my (rather primitive) watercolor representations of some of the flowers I found so stunning–Queen Anne’s Lace, buttercups, thistles (complete with happy hungry bee), and forget-me-nots; PLUS the winner will also receive 4 cards with their chosen monogram painted in watercolors as well!  Envelopes included of course.

To Enter:

  • Please leave a comment on this post telling me to whom you will send your first handwritten card if you win
  • The winner will be chosen at random, but if you leave a comment without including the bit of information requested above, you won’t be entered in the drawing
  • Comments close on Wednesday at 6pm EST, the winner will be announced Thursday morning
  • All are eligible and I will happily ship internationally!
  • Tell your friends, and be sure to check back next Monday as well since I’ll be part of May Giveaway Day with a whole bunch of other awesome bloggers.  You’ll have to check out Sew, Mama, Sew for a list of everyone giving stuff away, but there will definitely be some amazing work out there so don’t miss it!

Above are just a few of my practice letters for your monogrammed set!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 16, 2011 in Giveaway, My Projects

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Inspired by Shropshire: New Giveaway

  1. Andrea Baldwin

    May 16, 2011 at 11:26 pm

    I think I would use my first note card to write a note to my daughter, who has been traveling all over the UK and Iceland and will next travel to The Netherlands. Or, I might use my first one to write a note of thanks to the Bells for being wonderful friends to us and our daughter and her family, and THEN send a note to my gypsy daughter. But…please disqualify me, OK? I would love someone else to be blessed with these pretty little cards. I have some I can (and should) use! I love your little paintings! And, I love you! Mama

     
  2. kbaran01

    May 17, 2011 at 12:33 am

    I would definitely use the first one to send to my boyfriend who is studying cuisine in Paris for the next year and a half. I send him a card (and he sends me one) just about once a week in addition to e-mails and skype. I just love receiving a handwritten card in the mail 🙂

     
  3. Syl

    May 17, 2011 at 2:18 am

    Ooh, I want them! maybe to send a tardy thank you card to my absent friend… along with a couple (also tardy) Christmas gifts! Seriously, I think I’d send the first card to my grandmother who’s 92nd birthday was today (so it would also be tardy… it’s a theme in my life) and I would add the most adorable picture of my three munchkins ALL sitting and smiling and dressed nicely!

     
  4. Gigi Sanders

    May 18, 2011 at 12:56 pm

    Oh I think these would be too pretty to use! I would just stare at them everytime I had a chance. But I have an 88 year old aunt, who never married and loves beauty. She would be fascinated that you are in Iceland and the UK and would treasure what time it took for you to make this piece of art. So she would be the first and probably repeated recipient!

     
  5. Raggaknits

    May 18, 2011 at 3:16 pm

    Oh I love the cards 🙂 I would send the first one to my brother who lives in Japan. Miss him SO much… and his lovely wife and my two little nephews . I would tell them how much I look forward to them moving to Iceland this coming August… YAY!

     
  6. Grandma Jean

    May 21, 2011 at 5:10 pm

    There are so many good people who live here at The Heritage who are hurting, physically or mentally or both. I find myself writing notes to many of them. Old age is not for sissies! I believe any of them would cheer up if the received such a speial card.

     

Leave a Reply

 
