RSS

Knitting Iceland and a New Giveaway!

10 May

Last Thursday, Everett and I went to hang out with the ladies at Knitting Iceland, and they are seriously cool.  Ragga and Berglind (great names, right?) run the place, and Arndís (roll the “r” and pronounced like Arndeece, also lovely) who was working on a baby hat welcomed me in to chat about yarn, knitting, pattern writing, and the long tradition of knitting and other hand crafts in Iceland. Knitting Iceland hosts all sorts of workshops and tours around various parts of the country with the goal of exposing people from all over the world to the knitting and spinning traditions here–I REALLY want to go on one sometime, really REALLY want.  I also wanted to buy everything they had in their little shop–books, hard to find Icelandic yarn, etc. etc.–but what fit into my current budget were these lovely buttons made by a local ceramacist and stamped with the Knitting Iceland logo’s rose motif, which is a common motif in traditional Icelandic patterns for both knitting and embroidery.  Ragga threw in those clever stitch markers, and I bought the yarn (available in their Etsy shop) at another shop a little later in the week when I figured out what colors I wanted.  Find Knitting Iceland on Etsy, Ravelry, Facebook and Twitter–they’re worth knowing even if you never go to Iceland (and they sometimes come to the States!); their website also has lots more info and several gorgeous free patterns .
GIVEAWAY NUMBER 2
But what I think you’re really interested in, is this week’s GIVEAWAY!!
The Details:One of the free patterns on Knitting Iceland’s sit was recently published by Arndís, the young woman I met when I was there.  It’s for these gorgeous mittens, which feature a cross stitched design on the back that Arndís adapted from a huge wonderful volume of collected patterns and motifs from the whole history of Icelandic knitting and embroidered design.  I loved the pattern, but didn’t really have time to knit the mittens, so I just did it in a bit of wool floss on cross stitch fabric, mounted onto a scrap of fabric bought in Bath, England, then a piece of grey felt, and hung from a stick found here in Shropshire where we find ourselves now!  It’s about 4″x8″, and you could replace the stick with a dowel if you pleased, it’s not permanently attached.
The Rules:
1) Leave a comment on THIS POST (not Facebook or anywhere else) describing where this might hang if you win it–your house? a special room? will it be a gift? have another idea of what to do with it?
2) make sure your email address is accessible to me somehow so I can get in contact with you if you win
3) I will close the comments on Thursday evening at 6pm EST and announce the winner Friday morning.
4) I will be happy to ship anywhere in the world!
And a bit of detail of the stitching:

GIVEAWAY NEWS! In two weeks, May 23rd, I’ll be participating in the Sew, Mama, Sew! May Giveaway Day in the category of Handmade Items+Materials/Supplies! I’ll be only one of many, so don’t miss the chance to win lots of amazing handmade goodies!

 
12 Comments

Posted by on May 10, 2011 in Giveaway, My Projects, Travel

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “Knitting Iceland and a New Giveaway!

  1. atomiclulu

    May 10, 2011 at 9:44 pm

    I have been a fan of Knitting Iceland for some time after finding several mentions on HubPages and other blogs. What a wonderful giveaway. I have a mantle that needs a folk art banner (I’ve already collected some other items) This would be PERFECT with a big big T !

    atomiclulu at gmail 🙂 ❤

     
  2. Marta

    May 10, 2011 at 11:37 pm

    So lovely! I’d probably put it our bedroom because the walls are awfully empty. And I would leave the stick for sure…we’ve got sticks all over our house that would love to keep an Icelandic stick company! 😉

     
  3. Sara Lathan

    May 11, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    Gift?! Yeah right, I’d keep it all to myself! I would put it in our bedroom on this one weirdly narrow wall that always needs something. It would be perfect! I love being surrounded by friend’s creations in my home.

     
  4. Ragga

    May 11, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    LOVE it! If I wil this will go up on a wall in my living/dining room where I have my dining table and often have good friends around. The stick is awesome. You should get the Sjónabók to continue making pieces like this one 🙂 See you soon in Reykjavík…

     
  5. Rúna Vala Þorgrímsdóttir

    May 11, 2011 at 8:53 pm

    I’d give this to my mum for her 60th birthday.

     
  6. Erin West

    May 11, 2011 at 9:39 pm

    My mother’s side of the family is from Iceland, and I have been there twice to visit! I love pretty much anything Icelandic, and have some original artwork and wares in my home that remind me of my roots. This would be the perfect addition to our living room or office. So excited to happen across your lovely blog!

     
  7. Adrienne A

    May 11, 2011 at 9:40 pm

    Ragga is the best! I have also had the fortune to learn from her in Brooklyn. She’s a super patient and smart teacher. I look forward to going back to Iceland with our new little one to knit with all the ladies of KI.

    The colors of this piece match the colors in my mother’s bedroom. If I won, I would give it to her as a thank you for all the support she has given us during my first pregnancy. She’s the best.

     
  8. Arndís Ósk

    May 12, 2011 at 8:27 am

    It´s lovely! So cool to see the pattern in a new way 🙂 I love detail!

     
  9. sandra

    May 12, 2011 at 9:48 am

    There are also some great patterns and info about the Icelandic knitting traditions on The Icelandic Knitter website icelandicknitter.com

     
  10. Gwen

    May 12, 2011 at 11:55 am

    OH, it makes me wish I could knit! Sadly, I seem to have a permanent mental block against learning knit-stitches… I can only get 2 rows deep, but I can make it a mile long. 😉

    The cross-stitch is lovely– in my own home, it would hang in the studio, as I like to keep myself surrounded by images and textures that inspire me… if it became a gift, it would go to my mom. That dusty-rosy-cranberry sort of color shows up a lot in her house.

     
  11. Bryan S.

    May 12, 2011 at 2:13 pm

    Bryan saw this over my shoulder and asked about it – then he wanted to enter, so here is his entry:

    I would put it in my reading corner in my bedroom.
    I think it would look good there and the stick would make it easy to hang.

     

Leave a Reply

 
