RSS

First Ever Giveaway! (with a little catch, so read to the end)

02 May

As promised yesterday (for anyone paying attention), today I am offering the first of what I hope will be weekly giveaways for the next several weeks while we’re abroad.  I thought it would be fun to make something each week that’s inspired by our location or some activity and offer it here for you to comment on, then I’ll choose one comment at random and send it off (so you’ll also get a neat stamp:)  This week we’ve got a sweet little reversible sun hat for a very tiny head (the one for the giveaway is on the left):

The Story
It got real sunny all of a sudden back when we were in Paris, and I made up my mind to make Everett at sun hat.  I downloaded a free pattern (won’t tell you from where, you’ll see why in a minute), cut it out from two of my favorite fabrics for him, and quickly realized it was going to be way way too small (have you SEEN my giant baby’s head?).  So I adjusted the pattern–significantly.  Size was the first thing, obviously, but I changed the shape a little bit and made the whole thing completely reversible.  I finished Everett’s in time for him to wear it to the parks in London a few times, and since I had already cut out the little one, I decided to sew it up (it’s a quick sew once everything’s cut out) and make it the first ever giveaway.  This will probably fit something like newborn-3 or 4 months I think; the circumfirance is 15″.

A nice close up of the sweet Alexander Henry Teeny Tiny Zoo pattern on one side of the hat.

The Rules
1. To be eligible for this giveaway, leave a comment on this post (NOT facebook or any other post) that includes your email address (you can use (at) and (dot) if you’re worried about being too public) and tell me who will be wearing this hat if you win it–you don’t have to share a name, just a little something about the little person who needs their neck and eyes shielded from the sun this summer!
2.  I will close the comments on Wednesday at 5pm Eastern Standard Time and announce the winner on Thursday.

The Catch
In order for this to be fun at all, I would like to receive at least 15 comments, so please please please pass this on to anyone who might be interested!

And the clever little button hole that makes it so you can thread the straps through and wear it reverse to reveal the fun bird print (designer unknown, sorry!)

 
11 Comments

Posted by on May 2, 2011 in Giveaway, My Projects

 

Tags: , ,

11 responses to “First Ever Giveaway! (with a little catch, so read to the end)

  1. marta

    May 2, 2011 at 9:46 pm

    Oh my, SO cute, but Jonathan’s head is too big for it! So, hmmm…I think I would pass it on to a friend who is due with a babe this fall. Not sure if they are having a boy or a girl, but I think a girl could rock this hat just as easily as a boy. 😉

     
  2. Terry Jo Bichell

    May 2, 2011 at 9:54 pm

    Little Mrs. Baby Annie who is living in our cottage will be wearing this with pride, if she is the lucky winner.

    It is a really cute hat, and I love hearing about your adventures with the baby and travels.

     
  3. Stephanie R

    May 2, 2011 at 10:01 pm

    Hi Emily! What a great hat! Love the animal patterns. I’d pass it on to Rachel’s baby who is due this week! 🙂

     
  4. Andrea Baldwin

    May 2, 2011 at 10:39 pm

    So—I’m probably disqualified, but thought I’d leave a comment anyway. SOOO CUTE!! If I won it…..I could give it as a shower gift to one of my young friends…..but I just wanted to be one of the 15 that commented, really! Love your idea, as usual!

     
  5. Ashley

    May 2, 2011 at 11:01 pm

    Lovely! I would love to have this for my little boy who is 10 weeks old.

     
  6. alittleteteatete

    May 3, 2011 at 1:17 am

    Oh my goodness!!! ADORABLE!!! My sister is having her first baby soon, and I know he would love this! 🙂

    lisagoneaussie (at) gmail (dot) com

     
  7. Judy Irvine

    May 3, 2011 at 5:50 pm

    What an adorable little hat. I have a newborn grandson (born 4/7) in Alaska who would find such great use for that little hat! As the Spring progresses into Summer the sun seems to never go down and little Lucas could certainly use the extra protection.

     
  8. Nancy Moser

    May 3, 2011 at 11:43 pm

    What a cute little hat. I once made a chef’s hat for someone in a chili cook off and it was way too small. Fortunately, I was able to alter it. I too would send this little hat to my son- in-law’s sis in Alaska who just had Lucas, mentioned above.

     
  9. Elizabeth Havens

    May 4, 2011 at 1:04 am

    Very cute prints (and hat of course!). My two boys are too big for it, though maybe I could keep it for the next baby? And no, I’m not pregnant ;)…Actually, I think I would give it to my cousin’s baby boy due at the end of May…

     
  10. MEL

    May 4, 2011 at 6:06 pm

    This is adorable, Emily! I would give this to my brand new nephew Ethan–he lives in the woods in FL and a good shady brimmed hat like this one would be perfect!

     

Leave a Reply

 
