RSS

To Canterbury they wende

11 Apr

So we just returned from a whirlwind trip to Paris with Eric’s parents and I’ll post on that whenever I get around to it, but two two Fridays ago, the first of April appropriately, Everett and I accompanied Eric and a few of his students (chiefly his sole Chaucer student) down to Canterbury for the day.  The main attraction was the Cathedral, of which we didn’t take any pictures inside, but I did take a few out in the courtyard.  We also visited a Norman castle and went on a very brief “river” tour.  Enjoy!

 

 

My view from a bench in the churchyard at Canterbury Cathedral where I sneaked off to nurse the little man.  The bell tolled while we sat there and there was a sweet cool spring breeze.

“Captain Chris,” the very sweet student who rowed us up and down the little stretch of river and told us about some of the old houses and the hospital where pilgrims could stay for free.
A lovely view of the river on this beautiful day with one of many churches over there on the left.  We heard about the greyfriars (good guys) and the blackfriars (bad guys who killed everyone for not being Catholic, then got themselves killed Henry VIII).
A very very old castle.  We couldn’t go too high up into it’s tower b/c there was a teenaged couple in their school uniforms making out up there–kind of obnoxious, but at the same time, wouldn’t you have liked an ACTUAL CASTLE to meet your sweetheart in when you were in high school?
So not a ton of great pictures, but I was abnormally photogenic (if I do say so myself) and I’m glad I got some good pics with Everett (here still in the Norman castle).  Thanks, Honey!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 11, 2011 in Travel

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “To Canterbury they wende

  1. Hannah B

    April 11, 2011 at 5:52 pm

    oh.my.gosh. i love that picture. em you look beautiful. and this looks like so much fun.

     

Leave a Reply

 
