RSS

Loot

26 Mar

My little reader with his current favorite (to look at and attempt to eat), the classic The Very Hungry Caterpillar

I love children’s books, especially those with excellent pictures (though I’m growing increasingly picky about text as well–some are really disappointingly lame!), and “children’s” literature.  I’d love to learn more about it and I’ve just scratched the surface by collecting an Annotated Wind in the Willows, the Winnie the Pooh series and Complete Beatrix Potter as shower presents for Everett. I didn’t collect much more than that before moving over here because, well, we were moving over here!  I packed up just the Winnie the Pooh, a to-die-for pop up version of The Little Prince and a few standard board books, and that was all I could justify.  Little did I know, this flat sits right across the street from the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea Library!!

View of the library from our window

I have not taken full advantage of this, to be sure, mainly b/c the stage where Everett would lie contentedly on the floor or bed and listen to me read changed rapidly into just wanting to chew the pages right around the time we got here.  But I managed to finally get back there yesterday, return several overdue books from a visit many weeks ago, and bring home another stack.  I present you with my loot:

My new library bag, a free gift from a little show at Craft Central here in London

Apparently I was drawn to lions on this trip.

Yeah, so lions; maybe I have them on the brain because of one of my little projects for a tiny new friend that’s in the works on my desk right now.  The two books in the back will probably warrant a post all their own because of how gorgeous they are.

Acclaimed by Stephen Fry--must be good.

The rest of my stack--I'm particularly excited about Paddington.

My mom read to us faithfully when we were small; despite often working herself, my father working loads, having 3 kids to care for, and moving multiple times, she always read to us.  Some nights it was just a couple pages between yawns, but sometimes we could twist her arm into multiple chapters, and the stories included Mary Poppins, The Wizard of Oz, 5 Children and It, Indian in the Cupboard, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, and Mrs. Piggle Wiggle, to name a few.  Sometimes we didn’t ever make it through a whole book (I think the Wizard of Oz fell into that category) but it didn’t matter.  What I remember most is how utterly special and cozy and loved I felt when Nate and I, after Hannah was put to bed (sorry honey, you joined us eventually), would rush to get our teeth brushed and pj’s on and climb onto mom’s bed and curl up on either side of her, and she would read to us in multiple voices, even doing a serviceable English accent for certain characters (she did have a Scottish grandmother after all).  I truly look forward to doing this with Everett and whatever siblings come along, partly because there are SO MANY books I want to read myself that I think will just be more fun with kiddos.  Also, I know I have many many friends out there who already have brilliant collections and are much more well read than I, so I look forward to their suggestions! (hint hint: feel free to comment)

 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Loot

  1. Marta

    April 11, 2011 at 5:56 pm

    A pop up Little Prince book! That will be added to our must have list!

    I fondly remember our Mom reading us Charlotte’s Web and the Little House books. 🙂

     
  2. marta

    April 11, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    Oh PS, we are also loving Dark Emperor and other Poems Poems of the Night by Joyce Sidman.

     

Leave a Reply

 
