RSS

Whirlwind of Baldwins

21 Mar

In a pub near Leicester Square

So my family was visiting with us this past week, and after some crazy sightseeing, I have a new appreciation for all of those out there who manage to be so super busy and still post on their blog with lovely pictures and graphics every day.  That is not me.  Anyway, here’s a little rundown of all the things we found to do with my mom, dad, brother and sister:
Saturday: they arrive in the am, we go to Aubain to celebrate Nate’s birthday, followed by this cake (so yummy!) that I made at home.  I think he liked it.
Sunday: leisurely breakfast cooked in The Teensy Weensy Cafe by my mom, then a walk through Hyde Park to the bustling Harrods, then back again.  Nate and Hannah proceeded elsewhere (Westminster area, I think?)

Nate's excited about his birthday cake

Monday: Breakfast at the Muffin Man, then I stayed home with Everett for some down time while mom, dad, Nate and Hannah headed to the Tower of London.  Late in the afternoon we met at Oxford Circus for some shopping.
Tuesday: Bus tour of London–so touristy, but so the best idea ever.  We chased this with lunch at a pub in Leicester Square, then more shopping for some of us.

Uncle Nate and Everett on the river cruise

Wednesday: River cruise (came free with the bust tour), and we decided to board at the farthest point away which was Greenwich Pier.  Foggy day, but still fun.  I left the fam at Westminster Pier to explore Westminster Abbey (which they loved) while I went home with Everett for a couple hours of down time and a bath before we all trekked down to North Dulwich for home cooked curry at the home of a former colleague of my father’s.  So fun but Everett couldn’t get to sleep so the 3 E’s ducked out early.

Nate and Hannah at the Baths

Thursday: Took the train out west to Bath on a perfectly gorgeous day.  Just took our time meandering around the town, went inside the Abbey, and of course, the Roman Baths.  So so cool.  We finished out the day by having tea at the Sally Lunn restaurant, in the oldest house in Bath, and home of the very yummy Sally Lunn Bun.

Friday: I stayed in while the family went to Buckingham Palace just to see it and ran an errand, then we split up: Dad and Nate headed to Borough Market where they ate all sorts of yummy things, while Hannah, Mom and I wandered Kensington High Street and the Portobello Market.
Saturday: Met everyone at the Pret a Manger in the tube station to say good bye to Mom, Dad and Hannah as they head back to the States.  Nate sticks around, and after Everett’s morning nap, we head back to Greenwich and enjoy the market there as well as a gorgeous sunny day!  In the evening, he and Eric head to a pub for a pint (or few) while I put Everett to bed and watch a movie.  Solo.  Love it.

At Sally Lunn in Bath

We had such a great time together, it was a blast to have everyone here and to go do some things I might not have done otherwise.  I was also so glad for Everett to spend time with his family–he seemed to really thrive on all the attention and grew more interactive and talkative with each passing day, and seemed to develop some endurance for long outings!  If you are friends with me or my mom on Facebook, and you’re at all interested, you can seem some more pictures (I’m over my upload limit for Flickr for the month and am too cheap to pay for an upgrade–anyone know a way to reduce the size of a lot of pictures at once?)

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 21, 2011 in My Fair City, Travel

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Whirlwind of Baldwins

Leave a Reply

 
