RSS

Harvest and Homecoming

12 Jul

A Plethora

I have finally arrived back at our little Saint Louis abode following several, um, adventures, let’s call them, on the way from Reykjavik.  I shall spare you the gruesome details and just tell you that a highlight was spending time with friends Stephen and Ivy Page who live in New Hampshire.  They are dear friends of my husband Eric’s and I am growing closer and closer to them with the help of their companionship during a 10 hour layover in Boston!  I haven’t seen them since our wedding two years ago and it was great to just hang.  Sadly, their beautiful daughters, Sayward and Patience, couldn’t join us, though I doubt they would have enjoyed staying up till 3am in the Boston airport.  But it was a blast, thanks guys!

Upon arriving home, I was greeted by our lovely garden turned jungle of goodness!  My friend Susannah had come by and chopped off two of the stalks of broccoli (the third being past its prime, sad!) and picked some cucumbers and carrots and left them all in the fridge for me, along with the fruits of my beloved Fair Shares which included blueberries and peaches and fish and sausage in the freezer!  Not a bad greeting at all, and I won’t have to do any grocery shopping for awhile (here’s hoping).  So here are some photos of the first true harvest from our garden, as well as some other still-on-the-vine goodies  (don’t mind the grass, it’s atrocious I know).

100_0829

 At the very top you can see the carrots, cucumbers, broccoli, purple basil and pennyroyal assembled on the beautiful bench Eric salvaged from the trash and refinished himself.  The garden itself is a little overgrown and I’m working on that–got a little caught up in it this evening when I went out to clip some catnip for our lovely but lonely kitties–and just started weeding and clipping, all in the rain, it was great!  I kept spraying the dirt off my hands then going back for more.  Wearing my rubber boots was especially fun.

100_0832I am very glad to be home.  It’s cozy and warm, but definitely missing something–my Eric.  He will be home soon.

In the meantime, I’m hoping to work together some more posts about Iceland–should keep me busy for awhile!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 12, 2009 in At Home

 

One response to “Harvest and Homecoming

  1. Andrea Baldwin

    July 14, 2009 at 2:52 am

    Hey—-so I read it! Very nice—love the pictures, and I’ve always loved your writing! NOW—I’ve got to go wash all these silly dishes! Love you lots and lots!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
