RSS

Highlights: Mombee and Aunt Silly take Reykjavik!

28 Jul

After Kara left, my mom (known to Everett as Mombee) arrived for two weeks, and my sister Hannah (affectionately nicknamed Aunt Silly) joined her for the second week.  So we got a full month of extra help with a new baby, so awesome.  Some of the sweetest moments I don’t have pictures of, like getting to take my mom to two playgroups to meet everyone whom I’ve gotten to know over the past few months, just hanging out in the flat reading or watching videos with Everett, mom cooking most nights, wandering around town, shopping, and stopping at playgrounds, and the moments when they took both kids and I got to rest some!  We took one road trip that included Þingvellir and the southern coast down in Vík, and mom and Hannah headed to the Blue Lagoon one day.  Here are a few favorite pictures of mine:

whale watching, or really, rocky boat ride in the cold and looking at a lot of water:)

Watching some new dvd’s Aunt Silly brought with her

The girls at Þingvellir; we also got some great family portrait shots here but I’m saving those for the Christmas card.

Hannah and I (and Bryndís, hiding in the sling under the blanket) on the beach at Vík. This isn’t the best picture, but I wanted to show the cool rock formations behind us. It was a beautiful day to drive down there!

Skogafoss; not part of the planned day trip but we spotted it on our way home and had to let mom and Hannah get out. I was pretty ok with not unstrapping two babies again, but would love to go back one day and climb up to the top. How gorgeous!  Hannah took this picture, btw

Sheep! I have an absurd number of pictures of sheep and horses from our various drives, so it’s about time I threw one in here. There’s just something so magical about the way these animals are allowed to roam the countryside until they’re needed, and they are EVERYWHERE.  But sheep are particularly special, not just because I love knitting with their wool, but because my mom has a thing for them and decorated MY nursery with little sheep stencils.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 28, 2012 in Travel

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Highlights: Mombee and Aunt Silly take Reykjavik!

  1. Hannah B

    July 29, 2012 at 12:49 am

    I love these. A lot. Especially the one of me and Everett. I can’t wait to play with him next week. Expect time without him, he’s all mine. Quality Aunt Silly time in store for those babies.

     
  2. marta

    July 30, 2012 at 10:08 pm

    That sheep photograph is so great!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

