RSS

Still crafting. . .

27 Jun

Not much news as we are still enjoying the life here. The weather has been behaving wildly with drastic ups and downs in temperature and days of rain interspersed with warm sun. Everett is up and about and standing more steadily every day, sometimes without support for a few seconds at a time, and he’s got a new hyper speed crawl for when he really wants something, which is pretty hilarious.

Close-up of the pattern on this fabric, which I kind of adore

The exciting news, for me anyway, has been having a little bit of time to do some knitting and sewing. There’s an old Singer sewing machine in our little apartment here and I’ve put it to work on a skirt for myself from some fabric I bought in Oxford; it’s home dec weight linen/cotton blend and was an old sample just over a meter x 54″ or so, so I bought it for just 5 pounds!  I did absolutely nothing by the book in making the skirt–kinda just guessed on the shape, based the size on a pair of shorts and adjusted as I went, cutting corners wherever I could in order to get it done super fast in the little amount of time I had one day (Grandma Jean would be absolutely appalled!); you can probably tell from the pic that the hem is a little wonky. It will serve its purpose as an all-purpose skirt for now, and when we get home I will probably fix a few things to make it a little more durable. But, even more exciting, is that I finished not one, but two sweaters last week! The first, Eric’s, is one I started last summer and have just been working on intermittently over the past year. The pattern was free on Ravelry and based on a sweater worn by the character Wash in the sci-fi show Firefly, which Eric really likes.  I finished it two Wednesdays ago, I think, but then I had to block it and we had a string of cold, wet days so it took ages to dry. By Saturday it was pretty close so I made Eric try it on and the sleeves were way too long. So on Monday, when I was sick and bored, I took the sleeves off, shortened them, and put them back on. It’s a little snug but my hope is that it will stretch a bit as he wears it.  Presto: In the meantime, I finally got to start on a little summer sweater for Everett on Sunday. I got yarn (a wonderfully soft bamboo/cotton blend) that was a little small for the gauge required so I recalculated how many to cast on so it would be big enough and went from there. You can see all the details I changed on the Ravelry project journal for this sweater, but I think he looks rather dapper in it (though it still is a tiny bit snug–I figure he’s going for the hipster look and can leave it unbuttoned some of the time:) Notice also the buttons that sweet Ragga from Knitting Iceland sent me a couple weeks ago! I was going to use the red ones I bought but decided the white would make the sweater more versatile. Yay!
My name on Ravelry is ebbahandmade so you can find my notes on these two projects and some more pics if you’re interested.

I’ve also gotten to bake some yummy things and it’s been a blast to have a whole crowd to share them with! I’ll save that for another post, b/c next week I’m going to make another cake to celebrate Eric’s and my 4th anniversary.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 27, 2011 in My Projects

 

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “Still crafting. . .

  1. crystal

    June 27, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    Wow….he’s getting so big! (Everett, not Eric!)
    Love the sweaters – especially the gorgeous blue on that sweet boy with his bright eyes! So sweet!

     
  2. crystal

    June 27, 2011 at 7:58 pm

    (PS – I like the skirt, too! It’s a great print!) =)

     
  3. marta

    June 28, 2011 at 7:59 pm

    Fabulous sweaters! Baby Sophisticate is in my queue too. I want to knit a grey one for Jonathan to match his Uncle Erick’s grey cardigan, also knit by me! ;)

     
  4. Pomona

    June 29, 2011 at 4:04 pm

    You have made some lovely things – well done!

    Pomona x

     
  5. Hannah B

    July 3, 2011 at 2:25 pm

    HE IS STANDING UP ON HIS OWN 2 FEET!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

